Birthdays & Cakes

In my family, we bake the birthday cakes. When I lived near my family, we used to always get together at someone’s house for a birthday. The birthday girl or boy always chose the meal and the host (usually my dad and stepmom) cooked and someone else brought the requested cake. Never anything fancy; what mattered is that someone made it with love. For my sister’s 19 or 20th birthday, she ended up having to make her own cake because of everyone’s schedule, but it was still perfectly fine!

My mom is a cake decorator by hobby as well. She can make wedding cakes, birthday cakes, shower cakes…any kind of cake and it is usually painstakingly decorated. I let my mom make J’s first birthday cake (a giant Jack-in-the-box), his fifth & sixth were Batman cakes . Against my better judgment, I bought J an Incredible’s birthday cake from the grocery store for #4 and he hated the frosting. It was way too sweet and to this day, he’d rather pick off frosting than eat it unless it is cream cheese or something make with a shortening base that isn’t too sweet. After taking one bite of the cake, he sat there looking COMPLETELY miserable and sick from the frosting. We still laugh about it.

Batman Cake

So, now I’ve given mom the backseat and this year Jack and I brainstormed for a new cake theme. We used Magnetix for the city behind and he created the Lego scene on the street. We think it turned out really well. I am always surprised at how much work even the simplest cakes take. This year’s birthday party involved Lunar Mini-Golf which is golfing in a blacklight. It was fun…only one person got hit with a club.

Lego City Cake!Lunar Mini-Golf

Last year, T wanted a Star War’s cake for #9 . Both these boys are into Lego’s and T has all the Star Wars ones. He helped me decorate it. We turned a sugar cone into the volcano and used crushed Oreo’s to the dirt.

Star Wars cake

This year for #10, we did a Harry Potter cake. Even though book 7 had come out earlier in the summer, T was brushing up on books 5 & 6 first. Since he was reading book 5 before his birthday, I did a potions book. We made up the potion recipe and customized it on what I thought I could come up with. It was so much work to write all of this and it really didn’t seem like that much!

Harry Potter cake

7 Comments on “Birthdays & Cakes”

  1. Warren says:

    WOW!! We are so lucky to have had all of R’s birthdays at Grandma’s cabin so far. Grandma makes a wicked birthday cake. Ya’ll put a whole lot of work into those cakes!

  2. Julie says:

    Wow, great blog. Even in blogs you chat alot. You are full of detail. It’s fun to read.

  3. sherrietraveling says:

    And you wonder where Jack gets all the chattering!!

  4. Kathy says:

    I’m so proud of everything that Sherrie has attempted with her cake decorating. What’s next with this woman?

  5. […] Birthdays & Cakes In my family, we bake the birthday cakes. When I lived near my family, we used to always get together at someone’s house for a birthday. The birthday girl or boy always chose the meal and the host (usually my dad and stepmom) cooked and … […]

  6. pawsinsd says:

    My goodness, your cakes are way beyond my capabilities. I didn’t inherit the baking or decorating genes, only the cooking ones.
    Check out my new blog at http://www.cookingwithdee.net
    And please keep up your interesting work.
    Dee

  7. […] cakes are a big deal around here if you remember from here, here, here, here and […]


Leave a Reply

