This American Life

I am a HUGE This American Life addict. (For those of you not in the know, this is the BEST non-news show on NPR! For those of you keeping track, All Things Considered is the BEST news show on NPR.) I will listen to the same one over and over. I hate it when we are driving somewhere during the show and we drive away from the reception. Quite literally, I get all anxious and my stomach gets cramped. I start searching continuously for another radio station for a solid 5 minutes. (A just hates that about me…sometimes I get distracted in thought while I am searching for a radio station and he needs to bring me back to earth to yell at me to pick a channel.)

After my friend Sarah moved to Flagstaff, she emailed me to tell me about this show on NPR that I would just LOVE…it was This American Life. I told her that she I’d discovered it years ago.

I sometimes wish my life were interesting enough to be featured as a little vignette on the show. For those of you who love David Sedaris‘ dry, sarcastic humor, he is a frequent contributor. David Sedaris holds a special place in my heart and NOT because he makes me BUST out laughing when I hear him read his essays. When A and I first communicated, we were both reading his Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim…actually I was listening and he was reading. It was a good start, but he still needed convincing that I wasn’t morally corrupt for being ten minutes away from becoming a vegetarian, and I needed convincing that he wasn’t morally judgmental because he was a Republican.

I remember a time when I actually thought my life would be so awful if I listened to NPR all the time….Boy was I wrong! I rarely turn it off of NPR. In fact, I don’t even know who Amy Winehouse is outside of all the trouble and winning the Grammy’s. I have absolutely no idea what her songs sound like. What is ironic is that A told me the other night about how he heard this thing about her on NPR…it was about how she has transformed the British music scene and whatnot. A likes to think he is in the know about the music scene, so I felt better about the fact that he didn’t know any of her music either. I then asked if he’d heard about Reel Big Fish. He scoffed and said yes, but meant who do you think I am? Of course, I know who they are…duh!

Thanks to The 10,000 Hours Show, I’ll be attending the Reel Big Fish concert in April. I asked A if he wanted to go too, but I told him he’d better change his attitude first!

One Comment on “This American Life”

  1. Sarah says:

    This is my favorite line! I appreciate being mentioned…. I love IRA (sp)!!!!

    It was a good start, but he still needed convincing that I wasn’t morally corrupt for being ten minutes away from becoming a vegetarian, and I needed convincing that he wasn’t morally judgmental because he was a Republican.


Leave a Reply

