Lost Tooth

I had a meeting tonight and called to talk to J before he went to bed. He told me he lost his tooth, but he REALLY lost it in the snowbank at school. He said there was a slight chance he would find it in the Spring. He was going to write a note to the tooth fairy about the situation and hope that she understands. I told him that I thought she would. He said that one of his teachers said they never heard of anyone losing a tooth in a snowbank at Woodbury (his school) before, so he wasn’t sure the tooth fairy would understand.

J also told me that no one knew that he lost his tooth, and he just stood there crying WITHOUT making a sound. (Any parent knows this is the really, really sad cry when this happens.) Hannah saw that he was crying and said, I think he is crying because he lost his tooth.

Because Hannah and J have a very tumultuous relationship, I commented that Hannah was being quite nice today. He said yes and added that they played nicely at the after school program too.

This makes me think of another tooth fairy episode that happened last summer. J lost a tooth. (I think it was his fourth lost tooth.) A and I have a system for situations like this. Before I go to bed, A double checks that I have played the tooth fairy. On this night, he did not do his double checking duty, so I forgot what I needed to do.

In the morning, J woke up very early, like 6 am early, to find the tooth fairy hadn’t arrived. He came into our room very upset. I started thinking about what color I would choose for my WORST MOM forehead tattoo. I told him to come snuggle up in bed with me and prayed he would fall asleep. Between prayers, I racked my brain on how I could fix the problem in a believable manner. He fell asleep, and I went to work.

Tooth Fairy fix:
1. Grab a small sheet of paper that is clearly ripped off a much larger sheet. It MUST be tooth fairy sized!
2. Write a note using your wrong writing hand…the tooth fairy does NOT have time to learn to print well. A believable note might include some sort of emergency situation and something to make the child feel special. It also helps to write choppy sentences since the tooth fairy would be in a very large hurry trying to catch up. Initials will also help present a convincing rush feel.

Sorry late. Got wing caught in window frame. Had to go to doctor. TF

3. Do NOT forget to leave the money AND a little extra because you are in this situation to begin with.
4. Act surprised when your child finds the note.

Unintended Consequences of Tooth Fairy Fix:
1. Child feels horrible that he doubted the Tooth Fairy, particularly when the Tooth Fairy visits despite bandaged wing and pain.

Intended Consequence of Tooth Fairy Fix:
1. Child feels incredibly special that the tooth fairy visited DESPITE bandaged wing and pain.

4 Comments on “Lost Tooth”

  1. yaly says:

    That is one of the cutest lost tooth stories I have heard, well read. The TF Fix was great. Kudos! ^_^

  2. Fabulous story!

    How great that he still believes in the TF!

    As the author of a picture book about a very big-attitude tooth fairy with high-tech gadgets, one of the questions I get from school kids when I do school visits is: “Is the tooth fairy real?”

    One little girl went so far as to say, “Is the tooth fairy real? Please, please tell me pretty please with a cherry on top!”

    Calling her up to stand with me in front of 300 kids ranging from Kindergarten to fourth grade, I looked at her and said, “Yes, the tooth fairy is real. But like all fairies, she simply disappears when YOU stop believing in her.”

    That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. I could never tell a kid otherwise — because I still believe in the tooth fairy myself! 😉

    Sheri Bell-Rehwoldt
    Author, “You Think It’s Easy Being the Tooth Fairy?”
    12,000 copies sold!
    http://www.4kids.Bell-Rehwoldt.com

  3. sherrietraveling says:

    I love that explanation of belief! I can use that with Santa too.

  4. […] I think that gives me permission to seek laser removal of my worst mom ever tattoo across my forehead for the tooth fairy incident. […]


Leave a Reply

