Infomercials & Birthday Cakes

Jack watched the Nuwave oven infomercial this morning and is absolutely convinced that we should buy it. Why?

  • Oh, mom! It only costs $39.99!
  • You can ask the operator for a bigger one that can cook a 16 pound turkey for a WHOLE family!
  • It cooks without fat and….I think, calories.
  • It cooks fast!

This past weekend we celebrated Troy’s 11th birthday.

opening-presents

We incorporated castle Lego’s into the cake this year. I wanted to use writing that was “medieval-esc”. I knew my hand wasn’t capable of such a feat. So, I opened Word, typed Happy 11th Birthday, Troy! and found a font that was medieval-esc. We don’t have a printer, so I increased the view to 100% and traced the words onto a sheet of paper. (Clever, I know!) I then used an exacto knife to cut out the text from the paper so I had a template. I then set the paper on wet frosting and filled in the template with red sugar. Unfortunately, the frosting had to be wet to make the sugar stick to it, but it also meant the frosting stuck to the paper as well. All in all, I think it turned out pretty well. Certainly better than my attempt at writing it with frosting.

top-of-cake

side-of-cake

Here is a picture of the chocolatey carmel popcorn that Jack and I made the other day. The recipe came off the bag of carmels. It was good, but Jack and I both agreed it was too much chocolate.

carmel-chocolate-popcorn

I ate most of this popcorn. 😦  I should be trimming back for the holidays, not splurging before they begin!

Here is a picture of a twenty minute meal from scratch – crepe pancakes with sauteed apples. I made it for dinner tonight. I cut up three Braeburn apples and sauteed them with butter and brown sugar. Yummy!!

crepes-with-sauteed-apples

One Comment on “Infomercials & Birthday Cakes”

  1. […] Birthday cakes are a big deal around here if you remember from here, here, here, here and here. […]


Leave a Reply

