The Virtue of Lists

I’ve made my Christmas list, and I’ve checked it twice.

Unfortunately, I’m not putting as many check marks next to completed items as I’d like.

Yesterday, though, I did knock out a very belated September birthday present- a ruffly scarf inspired by Dana. It came together very quickly, and I am very pleased with the result. In fact, I’m going to make one for myself because I cannot think of anyone else on my Christmas list who wears scarves. Yeah for me! I’ll post pictures tomorrow.

I also tried something new this week. I read a post, don’t know where, about organizing home chores and meals. The post made so much sense that I had to kick myself. The gist was that you make a list of your Monday chores, your Tuesday chores, etc. and look it over every day to determine what you should do. This has revolutionized my home chore and list life!

First off, let me say that in my professional life, I am highly organized and document everything in My Notebook. This is something I learned, ironically enough, from a highly unethical boss on my first “real” job out of college. The job that I thought was my dream job.

My Notebook is a simple spiral notebook that I document all my notes, calls, needs, lists, etc. It usually takes me one year to fill a notebook. My Notebook is great for a several reasons.

Everything is in one place. If something important gets written on a scrap piece of paper, it gets taped in. I cross off my to do lists in here and add as needed. All my telephone calls and contacts are contained in one place as well as the notes from the follow up.

The other reason My Notebook works so well is because I have a semi photographic memory once I write something down. In my mind’s eye, I can recall what the page looked like, what else was on the page, where it was written, etc. This was particularly helpful when I didn’t have My Notebook handy because I could call someone who could look through it, and I could guide them to the exact page in My Notebook of where the information could be found.

If only I could tinker with the memory to remember WHAT I wrote down instead of where it was…

Anyway, it never occurred to me to apply this same technique to my home life.

Duh. I know.

So, I grabbed a spiral notebook and made it My Notebook. In the front, I made a week chart and wrote down my chores for each day.

I have found that when I spend all my time at home, I get easily overwhelmed by being constantly surrounded by areas that need cleaning. The kitchen gets cleaned at least twice a day, but some rooms or areas within rooms start to collect things. The collection begins to become so daunting because there seem to be so many collections going at the same time. The sofa table is one of the worst collection points.

Anyway, when I look at my chore chart and say to my brain, clean the living room and the dining room today, I can tackle the sofa table which is in the living room because I don’t have to worry that day about the 20 other piles in the other rooms.

Brilliant!

Additionally, I now have one central place to keep all my information that I need…addresses, telephone numbers, paint can recipe numbers, to do lists, etc. I feel so much better!

So, now I must work on crossing one more thing off my list today!

 

 

One Comment on “The Virtue of Lists”

  1. […] to content Homeabout megood readsgood moviesI’m reading… ← The Virtue of Lists November 20, 2010 · 10:08 pm ↓ Jump to […]


Leave a Reply

