Beautifully Different

This is day eight in the #Reverb10 project.

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

I enjoyed thinking about beauty this way today and thinking about how others may find beauty in me.

What a bonus to have this prompt on this day, my son’s 10th birthday.

I’ve been feverishly working on his birthday present – a bedroom makeover based on this fabric. On a $60 budget, not including paint. (A post to follow in the next few days.)

I’ve been working on this makeover for weeks.

I’ve been talking about this makeover even longer.

As I talked with others, it was clear that my willingness to undertake such an endeavor was part of my beauty.

Decorating cakes for these kids o’mine is a part of my beauty.

My sassy-ness is part of my beauty.

My love of sewing, cooking and baking is part of my beauty.

My somewhat unconventional approach to parenting is a part of my beauty…sometimes. (Sometimes, it goes awry and I get everything wrong, but this is not about those times.)

Unconventional?

Nothing is OFF the discussion table here.

Nothing.

Nothing.

Sex. God forbid.

Discussing what wet dreams are while we eat dinner. God forbid.

He asked. I took a deep breath, then told him what he wanted to know. Dinner needn’t interfere with a good, open discussion.

Gay marriage and same sex relationships. (We live in Iowa, and this was a hot topic this past political season.)

Civil rights.

Freedom of choice.

Respecting the choices.

Transgender.

The realities of war.

Religion.

God. Is there really a God? Did Jesus really do those things? What if I don’t believe in Jesus? What if you don’t believe in God when everyone else seems to?

Why I swear so much.

Everything is ON the table because I don’t want these kids to ever be embarrassed, ashamed or scared:

  • to discuss anything with me
  • to ask questions
  • to embrace who he or she is
  • to share who they truly are with others

There are many ways to get there.

But this is how I do it.  In part, because this is not how it was done when I grew up. And that sucked.

It works for me.

It works for us.

And BTW, most everything we discuss is not controversial.

2 Comments on “Beautifully Different”

  1. Katie says:

    I admire your open communication with your kids. My parents always encouraged it, and will instill it in my kids. Someday.

  2. Sherrie says:

    Thanks, Katie! Gotta create what you want, right?


Leave a Reply

