Body Integration

This is day 12 of the Reverb10 Project.

Body integration. This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present?

So many of my answers to daily prompts thus far have involved my children, or more specifically, my nearly one year old daughter. Pregnancy and the first year following birth are such a transformational experience for everyone in the family that it is difficult to not have it heavily influence the reflections as I look back.

This question is no different.

When I reflect on what my body has done in the last twelve months, I am amazed.

It nurtured a healthy 7 lb, 9 oz baby. (The pneumonia was a result of the laboring process.)

It recovered from another c-section without complications.

My feet swelled to two sizes larger than normal, then returned, eventually.

My breasts swelled to provide the perfect food for my hungry baby, and continue to do so.

My body has lost all 30 pounds of baby weight.

A nine-month pregnant, taught stomach is now smaller and certainly less taught. Yet it is remarkable to think of the changes 12 months have put it through.

Cohesive YOU, alive and present

In September, I started WeightWatchers.

By late October or early November, I started to really feel back to normal.

My jeans were fitting like they used to fit. I was more comfortable in my shirts.

I felt a lot better about my appearance and about me.

I’d tried WeightWatchers in the late spring, but the milk machine stopped producing. I had to stop.

I was nervous when I started in September.

But, the milk machine kept plugging away.

My body was doing all I was asking of it.

Like a cohesive unit.

 

Leave a Reply

