Giving a Gift and Thanking the Giver

AmberLee over at Giver’s Log wrote a GREAT post about How to Accept a Gift on Friday.  It is well worth the read.

Skipping Step 4 is one of my biggest pet peeves ever. I struggle with it every year. The struggle is repeatedly gifting a person who never jots a quick note or calls to say thanks. This is particularly difficult if I’ve handmade something, or gifting to children who don’t write or call because parents don’t require it.

Isn’t it the thought that counts? Even if you hate it? Because when I made it or bought it for you, I thought you’d like it.  That’s why I took the time to make it or buy it in the first place.

My kids write a LOT of thank you notes in November/December because of where their birthdays fall in relation to Christmas. And mostly because they are very, VERY fortunate to have so many people in their lives who care about them.

They do not get to combine a thank you note for Christmas and their birthday gifts.

They would not write the notes if I didn’t require it. They don’t complain anymore because complaining means they don’t get to play with the gifts until the notes are done.

Every year, I can see how much their view of a proper thank you note changes. One sentence (K or 1st grade) to a couple sentences, to added illustrations.

I imagine the intended opening his or her thank you note and noting these changes too.

I imagine this because I note these changes myself. I love the voice mail messages. Almost more than the notes. But, a child’s scrawls are quite wonderful too. It’s a tie.

Someday, my kids will thank me.

I know because people have shared with me that they are the only children who write them thank you notes, and it gives them great delight to receive them.

 

 

2 Comments on “Giving a Gift and Thanking the Giver”

  1. Katie says:

    My parents instilled the healthy habit of writing thank yous for everything as well. I think it is a great part of character. You are right- it’s the thought that counts. I am disappointed when someone doesn’t take the time to thank me.
    I have started making Drew write them too.

  2. Emma says:

    You’re right Sherrie! I believe in thank you notes too and they help instill the thankfulness for the kids and make the giver feel appreciated.

    Oh, I read the article that mentioned you and Jack in the Register, congrats on the nice article and the great project you worked on for the soldiers!


Leave a Reply

