Christmas Presents are Complete!

I finished and mailed Christmas presents for the two most understanding ladies in my life! Because I didn’t think through my first idea, it took a while for me to narrow down something special for each of them. I’m happy with how both of these gifts turned out.

Both are made from a fat quarter from Heather Bailey‘s Nicey Jane fabric line. I received the fat quarter in a swap and wasn’t inspired to make anything from it until these projects came up.

The first is a journal cover (and a 5 year journal). I didn’t think this through all the way before I started sewing, so I had to make some changes along the way.

I had to make fabric bands to hold the cover flaps onto the journal itself because I didn’t make the cover tall enough to accommodate a sewn fold over flap. (poor planning) 

On the inside of the cover, I wrote a special note with a medium point Sharpie marker. Those things are GREAT, but it takes some patience on fabric because they are so thin.

The second gift was a little stash-buster as I sewed some scraps together, then onto note cards.

I made 6 total along with envelopes, then made a stationary holder to keep them in, making sure to size the holder large enough to accommodate greeting cards.

I really like how the fabric adds to the beauty of both these gifts!

Leave a Reply

