38

I turned 38 yesterday, and in the weeks leading up to my birthday, I’ve been obsessing about all sorts of things.

Wrinkles.

Whether or not those hairs are light or gray.

How I can get the last 7 pounds of stubborn weight to come off.

Wrinkles.

Gray hair.

How I should buckle down and get serious about retirement.

Did I mention wrinkles?

And gray hair?

But, this weekend I spent time basking in how wonderful it feels to be me
in this moment, right here, right now.

By (top of the stove) popping popcorn for 40 fourth graders…

By sharing a meal, too strong margaritas and cake pops with family at my house even if I forgot to make the guacamole…

By watching the snow gradually melt away with the unusually warm, sunny days…

By picking out some goodies from a Bosnian grocery…

By making a batch of valentine inspired cookies for my class…

By being greeted with a special birthday greeting AND an iPad on my sewing table…

By tucking my jeans into my riding boots and going out to dinner at a fav restaurant…

By eating too much chocolate…

By remembering that this moment is fleeting, so I’d best enjoy it while I can…

 

3 Comments on “38”

  1. Katie says:

    You’re an awesome woman!

  2. Sara says:

    Retirement at 38? You have more than enough time to even think about starting to plan for it.

    Also, those croissants look DELICIOUS!

    Happy late Birthday!


Leave a Reply

